DINODISC LASERDISC & RETRO GAMES
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
DINODISC LASERDISC & RETRO GAMES

DINODISC IS A FORUM FOR COLLECTORS TO CHAT , BUY AND SELL LASERDISCS & RETRO GAMES

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Hello from Wales!

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Danielp

Hello from Wales! Empty
PostSubject: Hello from Wales!   Hello from Wales! EmptyMon May 09, 2011 4:16 pm

Hi,

I'm another recent convert to laserdisc collecting. I was a student when laserdiscs were around in the early nineties, so no hope of affording a player. I hadn't even heard of them until I bought a CD-Video laserdisc of an Opera totally selling off in the Virgin Megastore in about 1994 (Richard Struass Salome on DG). Just got it as a curiosity because it was selling off. Earlier this year, I was about to chuck out this unplayed disc- then I checked on eBay to see how expensive a player would be. I realised a modern Pioneer was the way to go, so went for a cheap CLD- S315 (which has AC3, but not amazing pic qual). I checked out the best discs to get and was suprised to find out how cheap they were- as a record collector, I appreciate the cover art and box sets. After a bit more research, I picked up a CLD 2950 with no AC3 mod for next to nothing- this is now my main machine. I have built up a small, but very good collection- I am being selective and picking up the best versions of Sci-Fi, kids movies, favourite movies and classical opera. I'm really enjoying the hobby- at present, when possible, I buy a laserdisc and the corresponding Blu-Ray, but skip DVD. Then hop from modern to classic format!! Very interesting to compare something that is all detail and something that is much more atmospheric and cinematic.

I think laserdiscs collection is taking off a bit- I'm buying everything I want before it really takes off ;-)