DINODISC LASERDISC & RETRO GAMES
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
DINODISC LASERDISC & RETRO GAMES

DINODISC IS A FORUM FOR COLLECTORS TO CHAT , BUY AND SELL LASERDISCS & RETRO GAMES

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin

IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE Empty
PostSubject: IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE   IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE EmptyFri Apr 01, 2011 10:22 am

Ive been collecting laserdiscs for many years now and there are still many aspects about laserdiscs & players that i have very little knowledge of, I tend to just watch the films on my old cld2950 player without knowing very much about the technical side such as ways of improving sound and picture quality etc.
What are the best ways of improving your sound and picture quality ? Is it really worth doing?
I did have a video essentials laserdisc but sold it thinking that I would probably never use it but I recently heard that it is quite a useful disc to use , Ive looked at replacing it but it seems to be pretty rare.
Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top Go down
https://dinodisc.forumotion.co.uk

PostSubject: Re: IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE   IMPROVING SOUND AND PICTURE EmptyFri Apr 01, 2011 10:38 am

I read an old article from the 90s somewhere which said the best picture results were achieved using a line doubler and a CRT screen.

I assume a line doubler would be the "retro" equivalent of upscalers you now get in new DVD players to make them look better on 1080p screens.

Anyone had any experience with using line doublers/upscalers with their laserdisc players?

As for improving audio it seems 9 times out of 10 laserdisc audio is considered superior so I'm not really sure if it can be improved other than adding AC3 to get surround sound.